City of Lawton


Lawton Arts & Humanities Council's

Lawton Cultural Awards


Deadline: 2017 November 3, 5pm


Forms to be available September 2017


Since 1971, the City of Lawton and the Lawton Arts & Humanities Council recognizes those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cultural life of our community. This recognition is given in the form of six award categories:

Roma Clift Montgomery* Citizen of the Arts
Roma Clift Montgomery Citizen* of the Humanities
Educator in the Arts
Educator in the Humanities
Business/Organization in the Arts & Humanities
Artist of the Year


Congratulations to the

2016 Lawton Cultural Award Recipients



Above, left to right

Marie-Ginette Baillargeon, Ph.D.,

2016 Educator in the Humanities


Sherri Conwell,

2016 Educator in the Arts


Jenny Perry,

One to Six Art Purchase Award-Winner


Gill’s Framing & Photography,

Kris McCurley Gill & David Gill,

2016 Business in the Arts


D'esirae Schneider,

2016 Roma Clift Montgomery Citizen of the Arts


Dr. Rosemary Bellino, M.D.,

2016 Roma Clift Montgomery Citizen of the Humanities


Robert Peterson,

2016 Artist of the Year


Call the Arts & Humanities Division for more information

at 580-581-3470 or 581-3471





*About Roma Clift-Montgomery, first recipient

Cultural Award Winners

For complete listing click here



Left to Right: One to Six Artist Janie Griffin with Allison Yates, Educator in the Arts; Steve Southerland, Artist of the Year; Sandy Hunsucker, Roma Clift Montgomery Citizen of the Arts; Craig Riha, Golden Corral, Business in the Arts and Dr. William Jolly, Roma Clift Montgomery Citizen of the Humanities



Left to Right, artwork by John Hernandez: Martha McCartney, RCM Citizen of the Arts; Alan Jolly for Southwest Exteriors, Business in the Arts; Virginia O'Leary, RCM Citizen of the Humanities; Kelly Martin, Educator in the Arts; Dr. Terence Freeman, Educator in the Humanities; Tom Biggs, Artist of the Year; & John Hernandez, 2014 One to Six Art Purchase Award Winner



Left to Right with artwork by Santos Rubio: Neil West, RCM Citizen of the Arts; Tim Sauptty, Artist of the Year; John G. Morris, Educator in the Humanities; Scott Richard Klein, Educator in the Arts; Larry Campbell for Southwest Pride Barbershop, Organization in the Arts; and Victor & Martha Leary (Martha unable to attend), RCM Citizen of the Humanities




Left to Right with artwork by Myron Beeson: Business in the Arts, City National Bank (Paul Elwanger); Educator in the Humanities, Dr. Von Underwood accepting for Tony Allison; Debbie Wood; Educator in the Arts; RCM Citizen of the Arts, Kelly & Teresa Pendergraft; Artist of the Year, Mandee Thomas; RCM Citizen of the Humanities, Catherine Caccioppoli, and "One to Six Artist", Myron Beeson